Sunday, September 18, 2011

Gilmore Girls (Season 4) DVD Review

The first script from the Family Friendly Forum’s script development fund to finally make it to the small screen, Gilmore Girls has paid off enormously for its creators. The result of the unified efforts of that organization and the WB Network, the show has followed on the heels of other successful WB programs such as Dawson’s Creek, Felicity, and Smallville. Dismissed by critics initially, the show has rocketed up the Neilsen ratings nonetheless. Set in the small idyllic town of Stars Hollow, Connecticut, Gilmore Girls follows the lives of two central characters, Lorelai Gilmore and her daughter Rory, as they attempt to deal with the outside world and each other. With Rory being the product of a teenage pregnancy, Lorelai is determined to raise her daughter in such a way that she can avoid the mistakes of her mother’s past. Filled with drama, love, friendship, and eccentric characters, Gilmore Girls ranks as of the best original series of the decade…

The Gilmore Girls (Season 4) DVD features a number of touching episodes including the season premiere “Ballrooms and Biscotti” in which Lorelai and Rory return from their European vacation to experience a whirlwind of activity. Taylor gets upset when Rory declines the offer to be the Stars Hollow Ice Cream Queen, while Rory herself is in a panic after realizing she wrote the wrong date for freshman orientation on her calendar. Now, she must fit a week’s worth of preparation into two days, and Emily isn’t very happy about it… Other notable episodes from Season 4 include “The Nanny and the Professor” in which Rory becomes concerned when Paris’s new boyfriend turns out to be one of her college professors, and “Luke Can See Her Face” in which a self-help tape and a long talk with Jess help Luke to envision a path to the relationship he’s been seeking all along…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Gilmore Girls (Season 4) DVD:

Episode 66 (Ballrooms and Biscotti) Air Date: 09-23-2003
Episode 67 (The Lorelai’s First Day at Yale) Air Date: 09-30-2003
Episode 68 (The Hobbit, the Sofa, and Digger Stiles) Air Date: 10-07-2003
Episode 69 (Chicken or Beef?) Air Date: 10-14-2003
Episode 70 (The Fundamental Things Apply) Air Date: 10-21-2003
Episode 71 (An Affair to Remember) Air Date: 10-28-2003
Episode 72 (The Festival of Living Art) Air Date: 11-04-2003
Episode 73 (Die, Jerk) Air Date: 11-11-2003
Episode 74 (Ted Koppel’s Big Night Out) Air Date: 11-18-2003
Episode 75 (The Nanny and the Professor) Air Date: 01-20-2004
Episode 76 (In the Clamor and the Clangor) Air Date: 01-27-2004
Episode 77 (A Family Matter) Air Date: 02-03-2004
Episode 78 (Nag Hammadi is Where They Found the Gnostic Gospels) Air Date: 02-10-2004
Episode 79 (The Incredible Shrinking Lorelais) Air Date: 02-17-2004
Episode 80 (Scene in a Mall) Air Date: 02-24-2004
Episode 81 (The Reigning Lorelai) Air Date: 03-02-2004
Episode 82 (Girls in Bikinis, Boys Doin’ the Twist) Air Date: 04-13-2004
Episode 83 (Tick, Tick, Tick, Boom!) Air Date: 04-20-2004
Episode 84 (Afterboom) Air Date: 04-27-2004
Episode 85 (Luke Can See Her Face) Air Date: 05-04-2004
Episode 86 (Last Week Fights, This Week Tights) Air Date: 05-11-2004
Episode 87 (Raincoats and Recipes) Air Date: 05-18-2004

No comments:

Post a Comment