Saturday, November 19, 2011

Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman (DVD) Review

Nominated for 19 Emmys and 5 Golden Globes, including Best TV Series - Drama, Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman experienced the rare double victory of audience loyalty and widespread critical acclaim. Premiering in mid-season (January 1993), the hour-long CBS original series illustrated American frontier life like few other shows before it. Like the smash hit Little House On The Prairie, Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman vividly portrays the hardship, struggle, and community kinship endemic to the era. One of the first Western-themed shows to cast a female doctor (as the star of the show nonetheless), Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman enjoyed a successful five-year run, marked by two highly-touted made-for-TV movies…

Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman follows the exploits of Dr. Michaela "Mike" Quinn, a female doctor living in 19th Century America when that sort of thing was unheard of. Working for years as an assistant in her father's New England medical practice, the death of her father prompts Dr. Mike to answer a want ad for a doctor in the thriving American frontier town of Colorado Springs. When she arrives, the town is taken aback, having expected she was a man. But Dr. Mike quickly endears herself with the townsfolk and expands her family by adopting three orphan children - Matthew (Chad Allen), Colleen (Erika Flores/Jessica Bowman), and Brian (Shawn Toovey). As the show progresses, she eventually marries local Byron Sully (Joe Lando), and the final seasons focus on the lives of their nuclear family. Sporting an assorted cast of loveable, and sometimes eccentric, characters, the town is never short of excitement or drama…

The Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman DVD features a number of dramatic episodes including the series premiere in which the audience learns the saga of Dr. Michaela Quinn, a female doctor who loses her medical practice along with death of her father (in whose footsteps she followed). The lack of job opportunities prompts her to leave her Boston home to answer a job posting in the Colorado territory. Once there, she befriends Charlotte Cooper, who soon dies from a rattle snake bite, leaving her three children in Dr. Mike's care… Other notable episodes from Season 1 include "Running Ghost" in which Sully is left partially paralyzed following a run-in with buffalo hunters hired to clear a path for a new railroad line, and "Portraits" in which the entire town must pull together in an effort to take a picture of the town so that it can be seen by David Watkins, a diabetic Civil War photographer, before he goes blind…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman (Season 1) DVD:

Episode xx (Pilot) Air Date: 01-01-1993
Episode 1 (Epidemic) Air Date: 01-02-1993
Episode 2 (Visitor) Air Date: 01-09-1993
Episode 3 (Law of the Land) Air Date: 01-16-1993
Episode 4 (The Healing) Air Date: 01-23-1993
Episode 5 (Father's Day) Air Date: 01-30-1993
Episode 6 (Bad Water) Air Date: 02-06-1993
Episode 7 (Great American Medicine Show) Air Date: 02-13-1993
Episode 8 (The Cowboy's Lullaby) Air Date: 02-20-1993
Episode 9 (Running Ghost) Air Date: 02-27-1993
Episode 10 (The Prisoner) Air Date: 03-13-1993
Episode 11 (Happy Birthday) Air Date: 03-27-1993
Episode 12 (Rite of Passage) Air Date: 04-10-1993
Episode 13 (Heroes) Air Date: 05-01-1993
Episode 14 (The Operation) Air Date: 05-08-1993
Episode 15 (The Secret) Air Date: 05-15-1993
Episode 16 (Portraits) Air Date: 05-22-1993

No comments:

Post a Comment