Monday, July 11, 2011

Cheers (DVD) Review

One of the greatest television comedies in history, Cheers is an absolute must see for anyone who's ever had a regular hangout "where everybody knows your name". The shows centers itself around a friendly neighborhood Boston bar named Cheers. The bar is owned by former Boston Red Sox relief pitcher Sam Malone (Ted Danson). Sam has two employees – bartender Ernie “Coach” Pantusso (Nicholas Colasanto) and waitress Carla Tortelli (Rhea Perlman). Things are great for Sam until he hires a jilted graduate student named Diane Chambers (Shelley Long) to waitress in the bar. Regular barflies Norm Peterson (George Wendt) and Cliff Clavin (John Ratzenberger) round out a strong supporting cast…

The Cheers DVD offers a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere “Give Me A Ring Sometime” in which the gang at Cheers first meets Diane when she spends the day in the bar waiting for her fiancĂ©, distinguished Boston University professor Sumner Sloane, to return from meeting with his ex-wife (where he hopes to retrieve his grandmother’s ring for Diane). Sumner never returns, resulting in Diane accepting a job at the bar… Other notable episodes from Season 1 include “Sam At Eleven” in which Sam’s ex-teammate turned sportscaster Dave Richards (Fred Dryer) arrives at the bar to interview Sam for the eleven o’clock news only to end up ditching him for John McEnroe, and “Pick a Con… Any Con” in which Coach is being played by a conman, prompting Sam to enlist the help of Harry the Conman (Harry Anderson) in order to get Coach’s money back. Only Coach has a few surprises of his own…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Cheers (Season 1) DVD:

Episode 1 (Give Me A Ring Sometime) Air Date: 09-30-1982
Episode 2 (Sam’s Women) Air Date: 10-07-1982
Episode 3 (The Tortelli Tort) Air Date: 10-14-1982
Episode 4 (Sam At Eleven) Air Date: 10-21-1982
Episode 5 (Coach’s Daughter) Air Date: 10-28-1982
Episode 6 (Any Friend Of Diane’s) Air Date: 11-04-1982
Episode 7 (Friends, Romans, Accountants) Air Date: 11-11-1982
Episode 8 (Truce Or Consequences) Air Date: 11-18-1982
Episode 9 (Coach Returns To Action) Air Date: 11-25-1982
Episode 10 (Endless Slumper) Air Date: 12-02-1982
Episode 11 (One For The Book) Air Date: 12-09-1982
Episode 12 (The Spy Who Came In For A Cold One) Air Date: 12-16-1982
Episode 13 (Now Pitching, Sam Malone) Air Date: 01-06-1983
Episode 14 (Let Me Count The Ways) Air Date: 01-13-1983
Episode 15 (Father Knows Last) Air Date: 01-20-1983
Episode 16 (The Boys In The Bar) Air Date: 01-27-1983
Episode 17 (Diane’s Perfect Date) Air Date: 02-10-1983
Episode 18 (No Contest) Air Date: 02-17-1983
Episode 19 (Pick A Con… Any Con) Air Date: 02-24-1983
Episode 20 (Someone Single, Someone Blue) Air Date: 03-03-1983
Episode 21 (Showdown 1) Air Date: 03-24-1983
Episode 22 (Showdown 2) Air Date: 03-31-1983

No comments:

Post a Comment