Thursday, July 14, 2011

Cheers (Season 4) DVD Review

One of the most popular television sitcoms ever, Cheers is the perfect series for anyone who's ever been to a regular getaway "where everyone knows your name". The show revolves around a friendly neighborhood Boston bar on Beacon Street named Cheers. Owned by former Red Sox relief pitcher Sam Malone (Ted Danson), the bar is frequented by a host of regular customers and has three employees: bartender Woody Boyd (Woody Harrelson), waitress Carla Tortelli (Rhea Pearlman), and Diane Chambers (Shelley Long). Celebrated psychiatrist Dr. Frasier Crane (Kelsey Grammar) is a common fixture at the bar (and later stars in his own award-winning series, Frasier). Barflies Cliff Clavin (John Ratzenberger) Norm Peterson (George Wendt) finish off a strong supporting cast of zany characters.

The Cheers (Season 4) DVD offers a number of hilarious episodes, including the first episode of the season which features the gang at Cheers and their remembrance of the late Ernie Pantusso (Coach). In this first episode, Indiana farm boy Woody Boyd arrives to meet his pen-pal (who happens to be Coach), but upon learning of Coach's death, Woody is hired by Sam to be a bartender. We also learn in the initial episode that Diane left Frasier at the altar during the couple's trek across Europe. The season ends with an improbable romance between Sam and the beautiful and intelligent city councilwoman Janet Eldridge (Kate Mulgrew). Diane is insanely jealous of Sam and Janet's romance, and the season ends with Sam's over-the-phone marriage proposal to a mysterious woman…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Cheers (Season 4) DVD:

Episode 70 (Birth, Death, Love and Rice) Air Date: 09-26-1985
Episode 71 (Woody Goes Belly Up) Air Date: 10-03-1985
Episode 72 (Someday My Prince Will Come) Air Date: 10-17-1985
Episode 73 (The Groom Wore Clearasil) Air Date: 10-24-1985
Episode 74 (Diane's Nightmare) Air Date: 10-31-1985
Episode 75 (I Will Gladly Pay You Tuesday) Air Date: 11-07-1985
Episode 76 (2 Good 2 Be 4 Real) Air Date: 11-14-1985
Episode 77 (Love Thy Neighbor) Air Date: 11-21-1985
Episode 78 (From Beer to Eternity) Air Date: 11-28-1985
Episode 79 (The Barstoolie) Air Date: 12-05-1985
Episode 80 (Don Juan is Hell) Air Date: 12-12-1985
Episode 81 (Fools and Their Money) Air Date: 12-19-1985
Episode 82 (Take My Shirt, Please) Air Date: 01-09-1986
Episode 83 (Suspicion) Air Date: 01-16-1986
Episode 84 (The Triangle) Air Date: 01-23-1986
Episode 85 (Cliffie's Big Score) Air Date: 01-30-1986
Episode 86 (Second Time Around) Air Date: 02-06-1986
Episode 87 (The Peterson Principle) Air Date: 02-13-1986
Episode 88 (Dark Imaginings) Air Date: 02-20-1986
Episode 89 (Save the Last Dance For Me) Air Date: 02-27-1986
Episode 90 (Fear is My Co-Pilot) Air Date: 03-13-1986
Episode 91 (Diane Chambers Day) Air Date: 03-20-1986
Episode 92 (Relief Bartender) Air Date: 03-27-1986
Episode 93 (Strange Bedfellows: Part 1) Air Date: 05-01-1986
Episode 94 (Strange Bedfellows: Part 2) Air Date: 05-08-1986
Episode 95 (Strange Bedfellows: Part 3) Air Date: 05-15-1986

No comments:

Post a Comment