Friday, July 15, 2011

Cheers (Season 5) DVD Review

One of the funniest TV comedies ever produced, Cheers is essential viewing for anyone who's ever frequented a hangout "where everyone knows your name". The shows focuses on a friendly neighborhood Boston bar named Cheers (the Bull & Finch Pub in real life). Owned by former Boston Red Sox reliefer Sam Malone (Ted Danson), Cheers has three employees other than Sam: Woody Boyd (Woody Harrelson), Carla Tortelli (Rhea Pearlman), and Diane Chambers (Shelley Long). Celebrated psychiatrist Dr. Frasier Crane (Kelsey Grammar) and his wife Dr. Lilith Sternin Crane (Bebe Neuwirth) are regular customers of the bar (with Dr. Crane later playing the lead role in his own series, Frasier). Norm Peterson (George Wendt) and Cliff Clavin (John Ratzenberger), regular barflies, round out an excellent supporting cast of characters.

The Cheers (Season 5) DVD offers a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere in which the audience discovers that Sam's marriage proposal from the previous year's season finale was directed at Diane. However, Diane feels that Sam is on the rebound from Janet, so she declines - requesting a more romantic setting for their engagement. When Sam proposes on a boat, Diane turns him down again then spends several episodes attempting to get Sam to propose once again. Meanwhile, Carla falls in love with Boston Bruins goalie Eddie LeBec (Jay Thomas) and John Cleese makes a guest appearance as a famous marriage counselor and friend of Frasier Crane. The season ends with Diane leaving Sam at the altar in order to finish a novel a publishing house is interested in…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Cheers (Season 5) DVD:

Episode 96 (The Proposal) Air Date: 09-25-1986
Episode 97 (The Cape Cad) Air Date: 10-02-1986
Episode 98 (Money Dearest) Air Date: 10-09-1986
Episode 99 (Abnormal Psychology) Air Date: 10-16-1986
Episode 100 (House of Horrors With Formal Dining and Used Brick) Air Date: 10-30-1986
Episode 101 (Tan N' Wash) Air Date: 11-06-1986
Episode 102 (Young Dr. Weinstein) Air Date: 11-13-1986
Episode 103 (Knights of the Scimitar) Air Date: 11-27-1986
Episode 104 (Thanksgiving Orphans) Air Date: 11-27-1986
Episode 105 (Everyone Imitates Art) Air Date: 12-04-1986
Episode 106 (The Book of Samuel) Air Date: 12-11-1986
Episode 107 (Dance, Diane, Dance) Air Date: 12-18-1986
Episode 108 (Chambers vs. Malone) Air Date: 01-08-1987
Episode 109 (Diamond Sam) Air Date: 01-15-1987
Episode 110 (Spellbound) Air Date: 01-22-1987
Episode 111 (Never Love a Goalie: Part 1) Air Date: 01-29-1987
Episode 112 (Never Love a Goalie: Part 2) Air Date: 02-05-1987
Episode 113 (One Last Fling) Air Date: 02-12-1987
Episode 114 (Dog Bites Cliff) Air Date: 02-19-1987
Episode 115 (Dinner at Eight-ish) Air Date: 02-26-1987
Episode 116 (Simon Says) Air Date: 03-05-1987
Episode 117 (The Godfather, Part III) Air Date: 03-19-1987
Episode 118 (Norm's First Hurrah) Air Date: 03-26-1987
Episode 119 (Cheers: the Motion Picture) Air Date: 04-03-1987
Episode 120 (A House is Not a Home) Air Date: 04-30-1987
Episode 121 (I Do and Adieu) Air Date: 05-07-1987

No comments:

Post a Comment