Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Cheers (Season 3) DVD Review

One of the most beloved TV sitcoms in American history, Cheers is the perfect show for anyone who's ever frequented a place "where everybody knows your name". The series follows the lives of the workers and patrons who inhabit a friendly neighborhood Boston bar named Cheers. Cheers is operated by a retired Boston Red Sox relief pitcher named Sam Malone (Ted Danson). Sam has three people on his staff: Ernie "Coach" Pantusso (Nicholas Colasanto), Carla Tortelli (Rhea Pearlman), and Diane Chambers (Shelley Long). Regulars Norm Peterson (George Wendt) and Cliff Clavin (John Ratzenberger) round out a strong supporting cast of eccentric characters. Most notably, season three provides viewers with their first glimpse of Dr. Frasier Crane (Kelsey Grammar), a psychiatrist who would later have his own series, Frasier...

The Cheers (Season 3) DVD offers a number of hilarious episodes and begins the ascent of Dr. Frasier Crane, imminent psychologist, as a television icon. Notably, Dr. Crane's stint on Cheers was originally intended to last for only a few episodes until his character became a regular cast member (similar to John Ratzenberger's ascent on the show). Michael Richards (Kramer from the hit show Seinfeld) makes a notable guest appearance in episode # 62. Following her breakup with Sam and abandonment of Cheers, Diane returns to the bar at the request of Coach who feels it will help Sam end his problem drinking. The Sam-Diane-Frasier love triangle lasts for the entirety of the season, culminating in the final episode where Frasier proposes to Diane while the two are on a trip across the European continent…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Cheers (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 45 (Rebound: Part 1) Air Date: 09-27-1984
Episode 46 (Rebound: Part 2) Air Date: 10-04-1984
Episode 47 (I Call Your Name) Air Date: 10-18-1984
Episode 48 (Fairy Tales Can Come True) Air Date: 10-25-1984
Episode 49 (Sam Turns the Other Cheek) Air Date: 11-01-1984
Episode 50 (Coach in Love: Part 1) Air Date: 11-08-1984
Episode 51 (Coach in Love: Part 2) Air Date: 11-15-1984
Episode 52 (Diane Meets Mom) Air Date: 11-22-1984
Episode 53 (An American Family) Air Date: 11-29-1984
Episode 54 (Diane's Allergy) Air Date: 12-06-1984
Episode 55 (Peterson Crusoe) Air Date: 12-13-1984
Episode 56 (A Ditch in Time) Air Date: 12-20-1984
Episode 57 (Whodunit?) Air Date: 01-03-1985
Episode 58 (The Heart is a Lonely Snipe Hunter) Air Date: 01-10-1985
Episode 59 (King of the Hill) Air Date: 01-24-1985
Episode 60 (Teacher's Pet) Air Date: 01-31-1985
Episode 61 (The Mail Goes to Jail) Air Date: 02-07-1985
Episode 62 (Bar Bet) Air Date: 02-14-1985
Episode 63 (Behind Every Great Man) Air Date: 02-21-1985
Episode 64 (If Ever I Would Leave You) Air Date: 02-28-1985
Episode 65 (The Executive's Executioner) Air Date: 03-07-1985
Episode 66 (Cheerio, Cheers) Air Date: 04-11-1985
Episode 67 (The Bartender's Tale) Air Date: 04-18-1985
Episode 68 (The Belles of St. Clete's) Air Date: 05-02-1985
Episode 69 (Rescue Me) Air Date: 05-09-1985

No comments:

Post a Comment